State Instructions — FLORIDA
Registration Deadline — 29 days before the election.
6. ID Number. If you have one, you must provide your Florida driver's license number or Florida identification card number. If you do not have a Florida driver's license or identification card, you must provide the last four digits of your social security number. If you have not been issued any of these numbers, you must write the word “NONE.”
7. Choice of Party. You must register with a party if you want to take part in that party’s primary election, caucus, or convention.
8. Race or Ethnic Group. You are requested, but not required, to fill in this box. See the list of choices under the Application Instructions for Box 8 (on page 2).
9. Signature. To register in Florida you must:
- be a citizen of the United States
- be a legal resident of both the State of Florida and of the county in which you seek to be registered
- be 18 years old (you may pre‑register if you are at least 16)
- not be adjudicated mentally incapacitated with respect to voting in Florida or any other State, or if you have, you must first have your voting rights restored.
- not be a convicted felon, or if you are, you must first have your civil rights restored if they were taken away.
- swear or affirm the following:
“I will protect and defend the Constitution of the United States and the Constitution of the State of Florida, that I am qualified to register as an elector under the Constitution and laws of the State of Florida, and that all information in this application is true.”
State of Florida
Department of State
Division of Elections
The R.A. Gray Building
500 South Bronough St, Rm 316
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0250