Skip to main content

NVRA Print View

State Instructions — MASSACHUSETTS


Updated: 09-03-2019


Registration Deadline — 20 days before the election.


6. ID Number. Federal law requires that you provide your driver’s license number to register to vote. If you do not have a current and valid Massachusetts’ driver’s license then you must provide the last four (4) digits of your social security number. If you have neither, you must write “NONE” in the box and a unique identifying number will be assigned to you.

7. Choice of Party. If you do not designate a party or political designation in this box, you will be registered as unenrolled, which is commonly referred to as independent. Unenrolled voters and voters registered in political designations may vote in party primaries.

8. Race or Ethnic Group. Leave blank.

9. Signature. To register in Massachusetts you must:

  • be a citizen of the United States
  • be a resident of Massachusetts
  • be at least 16 years old (must be 18 years old to vote on Election Day)
  • not have been convicted of corrupt practices in respect to elections
  • not be under guardianship with respect to voting
  • not be currently incarcerated for a felony conviction

Mailing Address:

Secretary of the Commonwealth

Elections Division, Room 1705

One Ashburton Place

Boston, MA 02108