State Instructions — OHIO
Registration Deadline — 30 days before the election.
6. ID Number. Your social security number is requested. Providing this number is voluntary. This information allows the Board of Elections to verify your registration if necessary (O.R.C. 3503.14). [Federal law requires that you provide your driver’s license number to register to vote. If you do not have a driver’s license then you will have to provide at least the last four digits of your social security number. If you don’t have either number you will have to write “NONE” on the form and the State will assign you a number.]
7. Choice of Party. You do not register with a party if you want to take part in that party’s primary election. Party affiliation is established by voting at a primary election.
8. Race or Ethnic Group. Leave blank.
9. Signature. To register in Ohio you must:
- be a citizen of the United States
- be a resident of Ohio
- be 18 years old on or before election day. If you will be 18 on or before the day of the general election, you may vote in the primary election for candidates only.
- not be convicted of a felony and currently incarcerated
- not be found incompetent by a court for purposes of voting
Secretary of State of Ohio
180 E. Broad Street — 15th Floor
Columbus, OH 43215