State Instructions — NEW JERSEY
Registration Deadline — 21 days before the election.
6. ID Number. The last four digits of your Social Security number OR your New Jersey Driver's License number is required for voter registration. If you do not possess either of these identifications, please write "NONE" on the form. The State will assign a number that will serve to identify you for voter registration purposes.
7. Choice of Party. New Jersey's voter registration form does not provide a check-off for political party affiliation. A newly registered voter or voter who has never voted in a political party primary election can declare party affiliation at the polling place on the day of a primary election. In New Jersey, a primary election is only held for the Democratic and Republican parties. A voter may also file a political party declaration form to become a member of a political party. If a declared voter wished to change party affiliation he or she must file a declaration form 50 days before the primary election, in order to vote.
8. Race or Ethnic Group. Leave blank.
9. Signature. To register in New Jersey you must:
- be a citizen of the United States
- be at least 18 years of age by the time of the next election
- be a resident of this State and county at your address at least 30 days before the next election
- not be serving a sentence or on parole or probation as the result of a conviction of any indictable offense under the laws of this or another state or of the United States
New Jersey Department of Law and Public Safety
Division of Elections
PO BOX 304
Trenton, NJ 08625-0304