State Instructions — MARYLAND
Registration Deadline — In-person registration by 5:00 p.m., online registration by 11:59 p.m., or postmarked 21 days before the election.
6. ID Number. If you do not have a current, valid Maryland driver’s license or MVA ID card, you must enter the last 4 digits of your social security number. The statutory authority allowing officials to request the last 4 digits of your social security number is Election Law Article, § 3-202. The number will only be used for registration and other administrative purposes. It will be kept confidential.
7. Choice of Party. You must register with a party if you want to take part in that party’s primary election.
8. Race or Ethnic Group. Leave blank.
9. Signature. To register in Maryland you must:
- be a U.S. citizen
- be a Maryland resident
- be at least 16 years old*
- not be under guardianship for mental disability or if you are, you have not been found by a court to be unable to communicate a desire to vote
- not have been convicted of buying or selling votes
- not have been convicted of a felony, or if you have, you have completed serving a court ordered sentence of imprisonment.
*You may register to vote if you are at least 16 years old but cannot vote unless you will be at least 18 years old by the next general election.
State Board of Elections
P.O. Box 6486
Annapolis, MD 21401-0486