State Instructions — ALASKA
Registration Deadline — 30 days before the election.
6. ID Number. You must provide one of the following identification numbers; Alaska Driver's License or Alaska State Identification Card Number. If you do not have an Alaska Driver's License or Alaska State Identification Card, you must provide the last four digits of your Social Security Number. If you do not have any of these identification numbers, please write "NONE" on the form. A unique identifying number will be assigned to you for voter registration purposes. This information is kept confidential. Having this information assists in maintaining your voter record and may assist in verifying your identity (Title 15 of the Alaska Statutes).
7. Choice of Party. You do not have to declare a party affiliation when registering to vote. If you do not choose a party, you will be registered as Undeclared. Alaska has a closed primary election system. Each recognized political party has a separate ballot listing only candidates from that political party. Voters registered as a member of a political party may only vote that party's ballot. Voters registered as undeclared or non‑partisan may choose one ballot from the ballots available.
8. Race or Ethnic Group. Leave blank.
9. Signature. To register in Alaska you must:
- be a citizen of the United States
- be at least 18 years old within 90 days of completing this registration
- be a resident of Alaska
- not be a convicted felon (unless unconditionally discharged)
- not be registered to vote in another State
Division of Elections
State of Alaska
PO Box 110017
Juneau, AK 99811-0017