State Instructions — WASHINGTON

Updated: 07-01-2022

 

Registration Deadline — Online and mail registration forms must be received by an elections official no later than 8 days before the election. Register in person any time during business hours and before 8:00 p.m. on Election Day.

6. ID Number. You must provide your Washington driver’s license or ID card number. If you do not have a Washington driver's license or

ID card, you must provide the last four digits of your Social Security Number. Failure to provide this information may prevent your registration from being processed.

7. Choice of Party. You are not required to designate your party affiliation to register in Washington.

8. Race or Ethnic Group. Leave blank.

9. Signature. To register in Washington you must:

  • be a citizen of the United States
  • be a legal resident of Washington State, your county and precinct for 30 days immediately preceding the election in which you want to vote
  • be at least 18 years old by Election Day
  • If you were convicted of a felony in Washington State, another state, or in federal court, your right to vote will be restored automatically as long as you are not currently serving a sentence of total confinement in prison. You may re-register.
  • 16- and 17-year-olds can sign up as Future Voters and be automatically registered to vote when they qualify

 

Mailing Address:

Secretary of State

Elections Division

P.O. Box 40229

Olympia, WA 98504‑0229