State Instructions — SOUTH CAROLINA
Registration Deadline — 30 days before the election.
6. ID Number. You must provide at least the last four digits of your social security number. You may provide your full social security number on a voluntary basis. Social security number does not appear on any report produced by the State Election Commission nor is it released to any unauthorized individual. (South Carolina Title 7-5-170)
7. Choice of Party. You do not have to register with a party if you want to take part in that party’s primary election, caucus, or convention.
8. Race or Ethnic Group. You are required to fill in this box. Your application may be rejected if you fail to do so. See the list of choices under the Application Instructions for Box 8 (on page 2).
9. Signature. To register in South Carolina you must:
- be a citizen of the United States
- be at least 18 years old on or before the next election
- be a resident of South Carolina, your county and precinct
- not be confined in any public prison resulting from a conviction of a crime
- never have been convicted of a felony or offense against the election laws, or if previously convicted, have served your entire sentence, including probation or parole, or have received a pardon for the conviction
- not be under a court order declaring you mentally incompetent
- claim the address on the application as your only legal place of residence and claim no other place as your legal residence
State Election Commission
P.O. Box 5987
Columbia, SC 29250-5987