State Instructions — NEW MEXICO
Registration Deadline — 28 days before the election.
6. ID Number. Your full social security number is required. This registration card containing your social security number will become part of the permanent voter registration records of your locality, which are open to inspection by the public in the office of the county clerk. However, your social security number and date of birth will remain confidential and will not be disclosed to the public. Computerized listings of limited voter registration information (without social security number or birth date) are available to the general public, and are furnished upon request to incumbent election officeholders, candidates, political parties, courts and non-profit organizations promoting voter participation and registration, for political purposes only (§1-5-19B, NMSA 1978).
7. Choice of Party. You must register with a party if you want to take part in that party’s primary election, caucus, or convention.
8. Race or Ethnic Group. Leave blank.
9. Signature. To register in New Mexico you must:
- be a citizen of the United States
- be a resident of the State of New Mexico
- be 18 years of age at the time of the next election
- not have been denied the right to vote by a court of law by reason of mental incapacity and, if I have been convicted of a felony, I have completed all conditions of probation or parole, served the entirety of a sentence or have been granted a pardon by the Governor.
Bureau of Elections
325 Don Gaspar, Suite 300
Santa Fe, NM 87503