State Instructions — NEVADA

Updated: 05-01-20

 

Registration Deadline — The deadline for mail-in or in-person voter registration is the fourth Tuesday before any primary or general election. This is the date by which: (1) a mail-in voter registration application must be postmarked; or (2) a person must appear in person at the office of the County Clerk/Registrar of Voters. The deadline for online voter registration at www.RegisterToVoteNV.gov is the Thursday preceding the primary or general election. Eligible voters who miss the voter registration deadlines can register to vote in person at the polling place either during early voting or on election day.

6. ID Number. You must supply a Nevada driver’s license number or Nevada ID card number if you have been issued one by the DMV.  If you do not have a valid Nevada driver’s license or Nevada ID card, you must supply the last four digits of your Social Security Number. If you do not have a valid Nevada driver’s license or Nevada ID card or a Social Security Number, please contact your County Clerk/Registrar of Voters to be assigned a unique identifier.

7. Choice of Party. You must register with a major political party if you want to take part in that party’s primary election, caucus, or convention.  If you register with a minor political party or as a nonpartisan, you will receive a nonpartisan ballot for the primary election.

8. Race or Ethnic Group. Leave blank.

9. Signature. To register in Nevada you must:

  • Be a citizen of the United States;
  • Have attained the age of 18 years on the date of the next election;
  • Have continuously resided in the State of Nevada, in your county, at least 30 days and in your precinct at least 10 days before the next election;
  • Not be currently serving a term of imprisonment for a felony conviction;
  • Not be determined by a court of law to be mentally incompetent; and
  • Claim no other place as your legal residence.


Preregistration for 17 Year Olds — A person who is 17 years of age or older but less than 18 years of age and meets all other qualifications to vote in Nevada can preregister to vote using any of the means available for a person to register to vote.  A person who is preregistered to vote automatically becomes a registered voter on his or her 18th birthday.

Felony Convictions — Any Nevada resident who is convicted of a felony is immediately restored the right to vote upon the individual’s release from prison. There is no waiting period or action required by the individual. The restoration of voting rights is automatic and immediate upon the individual’s release from prison, regardless of the category of felony committed or whether the individual is still on either parole or probation. More information regarding the restoration of voting rights can be found on the Nevada Secretary of State’s website at: www.nvsos.gov.

 

Mailing address:

Secretary of State Elections Division

101 North Carson Street, Suite 3

Carson City, NV 89701-4786

 

Voter registration applications may be returned to the Secretary of State’s office at the address above, but to avoid possible delays, you are advised to return your completed voter registration application directly to your local county election official.

Local county addresses: To meet registration deadlines, especially during the two weeks before the mail-in voter registration deadline, you should return completed voter registration applications to your respective County Clerk/Registrar of Voters.  A complete list of County Clerks and Registrars of Voters is available on the Nevada Secretary of State’s website: www.nvsos.gov.