State Instructions — MISSOURI

Updated: 09-12-2006


Registration Deadline — 28 days before the election.


6. ID Number. Your completed voter registration form must contain your state issued driver's license number. Your completed voter registration form must also include the last four digits of your social security number. (Section 115.155, RSMo). If you do not have a driver's license or a social security number, please write "NONE" on the form. A unique identifying number will be assigned by the State. Any electronic media, printouts or mailing labels provided under this section shall not include telephone numbers and social security numbers of voters. (Section 115.157, RSMo).

7. Choice of Party. You do not have to register with a party if you want to take part in that party’s primary election, caucus, or convention.

8. Race or Ethnic Group. Leave blank.

9. Signature. To vote in Missouri you must:

  • be a citizen of the United States
  • be a resident of Missouri
  • be at least 17-1/2 years of age (you must be 18 to vote)
  • not be on probation or parole after conviction of a felony, until finally discharged from such probation or parole
  • not be convicted of a felony or misdemeanor connected with the right of suffrage
  • not be adjudged incapacitated by any court of law
  • not be confined under a sentence of imprisonment


Mailing Address:

Secretary of State

P.O. Box 1767

Jefferson City, MO 65102-1767