State Instructions — MISSISSIPPI
Registration Deadline — 30 days before the election.
6. ID Number. You are required to provide your current and valid driver's license number or, if you don’t have one, the last four digits of your social security number.
7. Choice of Party. Mississippi does not have party registration. Therefore, you do not have to register with a party if you want to take part in that party’s primary election, caucus, or convention.
8. Race or Ethnic Group. Leave blank.
9. Signature. To register in Mississippi you must:
- be a citizen of the United States
- have lived in Mississippi and in your county (and city, if applicable) 30 days before the election in which you want to vote
- be 18 years old by the time of the general election in which you want to vote
- have not been convicted of murder, rape, bribery, theft, arson, obtaining money or goods under false pretense, perjury, forgery, embezzlement, armed robbery, extortion, felony bad check, felony shoplifting, larceny, receiving stolen property, robbery, timber larceny, unlawful taking of a motor vehicle, statutory rape, carjacking, or bigamy, or have had your rights restored as required by law
- not have been declared mentally incompetent by a court
Note: State law changed by federal court order in 1998 and by state legislation in 2000. We now accept the form as registration for voting for all state and federal offices.
Secretary of State
P.O. Box 136
Jackson, MS 39205-0136