State Instructions — GEORGIA
Registration Deadline — The fifth Monday before any general primary, general election, or presidential preference primary, or regularly scheduled special election pursuant to the Georgia Election Code. In the event that a special election is scheduled on a date other that those dates prescribed by the Georgia Election Code, registration would close on the 5th day after the call.
6. ID Number. Federal law requires you to provide your full GA Drivers License number or GA State issued ID number. If you do not have a GA Drivers License or GA ID you must provide the last 4 digits of your Social Security number. Providing your full Social Security number is optional. Your Social Security number will be kept confidential and may be used for comparison with other state agency databases for voter registration identification purposes. If you do not possess a GA Drivers License or Social Security number, a unique identifier will be provided for you.
7. Choice of Party. You do not have to register with a party to take part in that party’s primary, caucus or convention.
8. Race or Ethnic Group. You are requested to fill in this box. See the list of choices under the Application Instructions for Box 8 (on page 2).
9. Signature. To register in Georgia you must:
- be a citizen of the United States
- be a legal resident of Georgia and of the county in which you want to vote
- be 18 years old within six months after the day of registration, and be 18 years old to vote
- not be serving a sentence for having been convicted of a felony
- not have been judicially determined to be mentally incompetent, unless the disability has been removed
Office of the Secretary of State
2 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive
Suite 802 Floyd West Tower