State Instructions —CALIFORNIA
Registration Deadline — 15 days before the election; conditional voter registration up to and including Election Day.
6. ID Number. When you register to vote, you must provide your California driver’s license or California identification card number, if you have one. If you do not have a driver’s license or ID card, you must provide the last four digits of your Social Security Number (SSN). If you do not include this information, you will be required to provide identification when you vote.
7. Choice of Party. If you wish to choose a party preference, please enter the name of the political party. If you do not want to choose a political party, enter “No Party Preference” in the space provided. California law allows voters who choose “No Party Preference” or have chosen a preference for a nonqualified political party to vote in the presidential primary election of any qualified political party that files a notice with the Secretary of State allowing them to do so. You can call 1-800-345-VOTE or visit to learn which political parties allow “No Party Preference” voters and voters who have disclosed a preference for a nonqualified political party to participate in their presidential primary election.
8. Race or Ethnic Group. Leave blank.
9. Signature. To register in California you must:
- be a citizen of the United States
- be a resident of California
- be at least 16 years old, but you must be 18 years of age or older on the date of the election at which you intend to vote
- not currently serving a state or federal prison term for the conviction of a felony
- not currently found to be mentally incompetent to vote by a court
Your signature is required. If you meet the requirements listed above, please sign and date the registration card in the space provided.
Secretary of State
1500 11th Street, 5th Floor
Sacramento, CA 95814