State Instructions — RHODE ISLAND
Registration Deadline — 30 days before the election.
6. ID Number. The applicant shall be required to provide their Rhode Island driver's license or State ID number if the applicant has been issued a current and valid Rhode Island driver's license or State ID. In the case of an applicant who has not been issued a current and valid driver's license or State ID, they must provide the last four (4) digits of their social security number. An applicant, who has neither, will be assigned a unique identifying number by the State of Rhode Island.
7. Choice of Party. In Rhode Island, a person must register with a party if they wish to take part in that party's primary election. A person who fails to register with a party at the time of registration may, if they choose, register with a party on the day of that party's primary and take part in that party's primary election. If a person does not register with a party, they can still vote in general elections and nonpartisan primary elections.
8. Race or Ethnic Group. Leave blank.
9. Signature. To register in Rhode Island you must:
- be a citizen of the United States
- be a resident of Rhode Island
- be at least 16 years of age (you must be 18 years old to vote)
- not be currently incarcerated in a correctional facility due to a felony conviction
- not have been lawfully judged to be mentally incompetent by a court of law
Rhode Island State Board of Elections
50 Branch Ave.
Providence, RI 02904-2790