State Instructions — MICHIGAN
Registration Deadline — Postmarked at least 15 days before the election; or delivered in person to your city or township clerk by 8 p.m. on Election Day. If you are registering within 14 days of an election, you must provide residency verification to be eligible for that election.
6. ID Number. Your completed voter registration form must contain your state issued driver's license number or state issued personal identification card number. If you do not have a driver's license or state issued personal identification card, you must include the last four digits of your social security number. If you do not have a driver's license or a state issued personal identification card or a social security number, please write "NONE" on the form. A unique identifying number will be assigned by the State.
7. Choice of Party. A "choice of party" is not required for voter registration.
8. Race or Ethnic Group. Leave blank.
9. Signature. To register in Michigan you must:
- be a citizen of the United States
- be 18 years old by the next election
- be a resident of Michigan and at least a 30 day resident of your city or township by election day
- not be confined in a jail after being convicted and sentenced
Notice: If a voter possesses a Michigan driver license (DL) or personal ID (PID), Michigan law requires the same address be used for voter registration and DL/PID purposes. Use of this form will also change your DL/PID address. The Secretary of State will mail you a new address sticker for your DL/PID.
Mail or deliver this completed application directly to your city or township clerk. Find your city or township clerk’s address at Michigan.gov/Vote. If you are unable to find your city or township clerk’s address, mail to:
Michigan Department of State
Bureau of Elections
P.O. Box 20126
Lansing, MI 48901-0726