Skip to main content

Submission Period Opens for U.S. Election Assistance Commission’s Eighth Annual Clearinghouse Awards

Press Releases

The Annual Clearinghouse Awards Recognize Best Practices in Election Administration


WASHINGTON, D.C.  – Today, the U.S. Election Assistance Commission (EAC) opened its submission window for the eighth annual national Clearinghouse Awards, also known as “The Clearies.” This innovative award program publicly recognizes the hard work of election offices across the country and their invaluable role in the foundation of our election infrastructure. Submissions are judged on their innovation, sustainability, outreach, cost-effectiveness, replicability, and positive impact. Any program used in an election could be submitted for consideration. 

EAC Chairwoman Christy McCormick, Vice Chair Ben Hovland, Commissioner Donald Palmer, and Commissioner Thomas Hicks highlighted the significance of the awards in a joint statement:  

“Election officials and their staff work tirelessly year-round to navigate the ever-changing landscape of elections, and we would like to continue to recognize these unsung heroes through the Clearies. Their hard work and dedication are instrumental in ensuring that all eligible American voters have a smooth and positive voting experience on Election Day. Through the Clearies, the EAC celebrates the commitment shown by election officials as they address the critical challenges in election administration, including security concerns, accessibility needs, and more. This year’s Clearies will serve as a reminder of the critical role that election officials play in the nation’s electoral process.” 

Historically, the Clearies have played a pivotal role in advancing the EAC’s mission as the primary source for election administration best practices , and core to that mission is the opportunity to spotlight deserving programs regardless of jurisdiction, size, or project scope.  

All entries must be received by March 1, 2024 with the honorees announced later in the spring. Please visit to view all of the submission guidelines. All entries and accompanying materials must be submitted through the EAC’s online form

The 2023 Clearies Award categories are: 

  • Outstanding Use of HAVA Grants in Elections Modernization  

  • Outstanding Election Official State Association Program 

  • Outstanding Innovation in Election Cybersecurity and Technology  

  • Improving Accessibility for Voters with Disabilities 

  • Outstanding Innovations in Elections  

  • Best Practices in Recruiting, Retaining, and Training Poll Workers 

  • (NEW) Distinguished Voter Education and Communications Initiatives 

  • Creative and Original “I Voted” Stickers 

More information on the 2022 Clearies winners can be found at Please send any questions to the EAC at [email protected].  


The U.S. Election Assistance Commission (EAC) was established by the Help America Vote Act of 2002 (HAVA). It is an independent, bipartisan commission charged with ensuring secure, accurate, and accessible elections by developing guidance to meet HAVA requirements, adopting voluntary voting system guidelines, and serving as a national clearinghouse of information on election administration. The EAC also accredits testing laboratories and certifies voting systems, as well as administers the use of HAVA funds. For more information, visit