EAC Board of Advisors to Gather in Salt Lake City for Annual Meeting

Wednesday, April 17, 2019

Silver Spring, Md. – Members of the U.S. Election Assistance Commission’s (EAC) Board of Advisors will meet in Salt Lake City from April 24-25 to discuss election security, the next generation of voluntary voting system guidelines testing requirements, disaster preparedness and recovery, voting accessibility and the upcoming release of the 2018 Election Administration & Voting Survey.

The event will feature presentations from the Office of the Director of National Intelligence (ODNI), National Institute of Standards and Technology, Federal Voting Assistance Program, voting accessibility experts, election officials from across the nation and EAC staff.

The EAC Board of Advisors meeting in Salt Lake City takes place as news coverage focuses on how best to prepare for the 2020 Presidential Election, including how to ensure election integrity, shore up security, address aging voting equipment and protect the right of every eligible American to vote privately and independently. The Board of Advisors meeting will include robust conversations regarding each of these topics, as well as other aspects of the EAC’s mission as mandated by the Help America Vote Act of 2002 (HAVA).

The Board of Advisors is a 35-member board composed of representatives from the National Governors Association; National Conference of State Legislatures; National Association of Secretaries of State; National Association of State Election Directors; National Association of Counties; the International Association of Government Officials (created from the merger of the National Association of County Recorders, Election Officials and Clerks, and the International Association of Clerks, Recorders, Election Officials and Treasurers); Election Center; U.S. Commission on Civil Rights and the Architectural and Transportation Barriers Compliance Board. Other members include representatives from the U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Public Integrity and the Civil Rights Division; the director of the U.S. Department of Defense Federal Voting Assistance Program; four professionals from the field of science and technology, one each appointed by the Speaker and Minority Leader of the U.S. Senate; the Speaker and Minority Leader of the U.S. House of Representatives. The chairs and ranking minority members of the U.S. House of Representatives Committee on House Administration and the U.S. Senate Committee on Rules and Appropriation each appoint two members representing voter interests.

The following meeting agenda lists all events that are open to members of the media. Please note that meal service is not provided for press. Space is limited, so reporters wishing to attend are asked to reserve their spot by contacting Brenda Bowser Soder at or 202-897-9285. In addition, Soder will coordinate all interview requests for specific speakers.


Draft Agenda

U.S. Election Assistance Commission


Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek

75 S W Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101

Wednesday, April 24 -Thursday, April 25, 2019

[subject to change and approval]


Wednesday, April 24, 2019


7:30-8:30 a.m.                        Registration

Deer Valley Foyer



Alta, Snowbird, and Brighton


8:30-9:30 a.m.                        Opening Session

All events in Deer Valley Conference Room


Welcome to Plenary Session

Christy McCormick, Chairwoman, EAC           

Thomas Hicks, Designated Federal Officer, Commissioner, EAC


Call to Order

Michael Winn, Chair, EAC Board of Advisors


Pledge of Allegiance

Michael Yaki, Vice-Chair, EAC Board of Advisors


Roll Call

Thomas Hicks, Designated Federal Officer, Commissioner, EAC

in the absence of a Secretary


Welcoming Remarks from the Commissioners

Christy McCormick, Chairwoman, EAC

Benjamin Hovland, Vice Chair, EAC

Thomas Hicks, Designated Federal Officer, Commissioner, EAC

Donald Palmer, Commissioner, EAC


Approval of Minutes of April 23-24, 2018 Meeting

Overview of Bylaws


Procedures to Fill Executive Board Vacancies

Election Certificate Committee

Ballot Distribution, if multiple candidates for any one position

Voice Vote, if only one candidate per office


9:30-9:50 a.m.                        Break/Refreshments


9:50-10:00 a.m.                      Presentation - FACA Responsibilities, Board of Advisors Role

Cliff Tatum, General Counsel, EAC


10:00-10:45 a.m.                    EAC Update

Executive Director Brian D. Newby


10:45 a.m. - 12:15 p.m.          Disaster Preparedness & Recovery Working Group

Neal Kelley, Registrar of Voters, Orange County, California

Michael B. Winn, Director of Elections, Harris County, Texas

Sarah Ball Johnson, City Clerk, Colorado Springs, Colorado

Other panelists TBD


12:15 – 12:30 p.m.                 Board of Advisors Photograph

Location TBD


12:30-1:30 p.m.                      Lunch

Alta, Snowbird, and Brighton


1:30-2:30 p.m.                        EAVS

Deer Valley Conference Room

Nichelle Williams, Ph.D., Director of Research, EAC

David Kuennen, Senior Research Program Specialist, EAC

David Beirne, Director, Federal Voting Assistance Program


2:30-4:30 p.m.                        VVSG & Requirements

Neal Kelley, Board of Advisors, Chair VVSG Sub-Committee Brian Newby, EAC Executive Director

Ryan Macias, EAC, Acting Director of Testing and Certification

Mary Brady, Manager, NIST, Voting Program

Gema Howell, NIST Lead on Cybersecurity Working Group

Sharon Laskowski, NIST Lead on Human Factors Working Group



4:30-4:45 p.m.                        Miscellaneous Announcements & Business

Recess until Thursday, April 25, 2019


Dinner            On Your Own



Thursday, April 25, 2019



7:30-8:15 a.m.                        Breakfast

Alta, Snowbird, and Brighton


8:15-8:30 a.m.                        Welcome

Deer Valley Conference Room


Introduction of New Officers

Thomas Hicks, Designated Federal Officer, Commissioner, EAC


8:30-9:15 a.m.                        Committee Reports/Updates


9:15-10:00 a.m.                      Accessibility Panel

Michelle Bishop, Voting Rights Specialist, NDRN

James Dickson, Co-Chair, Voting Rights Task Force, National

Council on Independent Living

Sheri Newton, Utah Disability Law Center and HAVA


Thomas Hicks, Designated Federal Officer, Commissioner, EAC


10:00-10:15 a.m.                    Break/Refreshments


10:15-11:00 a.m.                    Intel Briefing

Joe Morosco, Assistant Director, Office of the Director of National

Intelligence (ODNI), Manager for Counterintelligence, National

Counterintelligence and Security Center (NCSC)


11:00-11:30 a.m.                    Open Discussion/Resolutions


11:30 a.m.                               Plenary Adjournment

Thomas Hicks, Commissioner, EAC/DFO


# # #


The U.S. Election Assistance Commission (EAC) was established by the Help America Vote Act of 2002 (HAVA). It is an independent, bipartisan commission charged with ensuring secure, accurate and accessible elections by developing guidance to meet HAVA requirements, adopting voluntary voting system guidelines, and serving as a national clearinghouse of information on election administration. EAC also accredits testing laboratories and certifies voting systems, as well as administers the use of HAVA funds. For more information, visit