EAC Aug. 16 Public Meeting to Feature Cybersecurity, EAVS, Grants Work

2 p.m. – Wed., Aug. 16, 2017

Silver Spring, Md. – The U.S. Election Assistance Commission will host a public meeting at 2 p.m. on Wed, Aug. 16. The meeting will include cybersecurity comments from Cook County, Ill. Director of Elections Noah Praetz and a discussion of the commission’s 2016 Election Administration Voting Survey (EAVS) featuring Fors Marsh’s Thad Hall. The meeting will also feature agency updates related to its cybersecurity working group, payments and grants work, upcoming 2017 Election Awards and the latest reports from the EAC Inspector General.

This meeting is open to the public and media. All attendees must show government issued ID to enter the building. Reporters wishing to attend should contact Brenda Bowser Soder at or 202-897-9285. 


EAC Public Meeting (view the full agenda)


EAC Commissioner Matthew Masterson, Chair

EAC Commissioner Thomas Hicks, Vice Chair

EAC Commissioner Christy McCormick

Noah Praetz, Director of Elections, Cook County, Ill.

Thad Hall, Fors Marsh

Brian Newby, EAC Executive Director

Mark Abbot, EAC Grants

Patricia Layfield, EAC Inspector General


2:00-3:00 EDT p.m. on Wed., Aug. 16, 2017 


United States Election Assistance Commission

1335 East West Highway, Suite 104

Silver Spring, Md. 20910

The meeting will also be streamed live at: /media/video-player-us-eac-public-meeting-081617/


Brenda Bowser Soder,, 202-897-9285

# # #


The U.S. Election Assistance Commission (EAC) was established by the Help America Vote Act of 2002 (HAVA). It is an independent, bipartisan commission charged with ensuring secure, accurate and accessible elections by developing guidance to meet HAVA requirements, adopting voluntary voting system guidelines, and serving as a national clearinghouse of information on election administration. EAC also accredits testing laboratories and certifies voting systems, as well as administers the use of HAVA funds. For more information, visit