MEDIA ADVISORY, May 23-24: Minneapolis Hosts Upcoming U.S. Election Assistance Commission Board of Advisors Meeting


May 23-24, 2017


May 23-24: Minneapolis Hosts Upcoming

U.S. Election Assistance Commission Board of Advisors Meeting


Local Site Visit, Secretary of State Steve Simon,

Speakers from Departments of Defense, Homeland Security Shape Agenda


Minneapolis – Members of the U.S. Election Assistance Commission’s (EAC) Board of Advisors will meet in Minneapolis from May 23-24 to discuss the accessibility, accuracy and security of federal elections. Prior to the meeting on May 22, Board of Advisors members will tour the Minneapolis elections office and attend a discussion with Grace Wachlarowicz, Assistant City Clerk and Director of Elections and Voter Services.

The May 23-24 meeting will kick off with a video welcome from U.S. Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.) and later feature a keynote address from Minnesota Secretary of State Steve Simon. It will also feature presentations from EAC Chairman Matthew Masterson and Vice-Chairman Thomas Hicks, who is the board’s Designated Federal Officer, as well as presentations from election experts from across the nation and representatives from the Departments of Defense and Homeland Security. The meeting is open to press and the public to attend. 

The EAC Board of Advisors meeting takes place as news headlines are shaped by concerns stemming from alleged voting irregularities, cyberattacks, voter accessibility and aging election equipment across the country. It also follows the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s January 2017 decision to designate election systems as part of the nation’s critical infrastructure. The Standards Board meeting will tackle these timely issues and many others, including standards for the next generation of voting system certification guidelines, how best to serve military and overseas voters and how the EAC plans to support state and local election administrators in their work to improve voter experience and election procedures.


The EAC Board of Advisors was established under the Help America Vote Act (HAVA) and is comprised of 37 members who assist the EAC in carrying out its mandates under the law. Among its members are the following groups, as specified by HAVA (two members appointed by each): National Governors Association; National Conference of State Legislatures; National Association of Secretaries of State; The National Association of State Election Directors; National Association of Counties; The National Association of County Recorders, Election Officials and Clerks; The U.S. Conference of Mayors; Election Center; International Association of Clerks, Recorders, Election Officials, and Treasurers; U.S. Commission on Civil Rights; and Architectural and Transportation Barriers Compliance Board. Other members include representatives from the U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Public Integrity, and the Civil Rights Division; the director of the U.S. Department of Defense Federal Voting Assistance Program; four professionals from the field of science and technology, one each appointed by the Speaker and the Minority Leader of the U.S. House of Representatives, and the Majority and Minority leaders of the U.S. Senate; and eight members representing voter interests, with the chairs and the ranking minority members of the U.S. House of Representatives Committee on House Administration and the U.S. Senate Committee on Rules and Administration each appointing two members. 

Click here to view a meeting agenda lists all events that are open to members of the media. Space is limited, so reporters wishing to attend are asked to reserve their spot by contacting Brenda Bowser Soder at or 202-897-9285 (mobile). In addition, Soder will coordinate all interview requests for specific speakers.



WHAT:         U.S. Election Assistance Commission Board of Advisors Meeting


WHEN:         May 23-24


WHERE:       Courtyard Minneapolis

1500 Washington Avenue South

Minneapolis, MD


WHAT:         View full agenda here, including:


  • Video welcome from U.S. Senator Amy Klobuchar
  • Keynote Speaker Steve Simon, Minnesota Secretary of State
  • EAC Chairman Matthew Masterson       
  • EAC Vice Chairman Thomas Hicks
  • Speakers from the Departments of Defense and Homeland Security
  • Various election experts and officials from across the nation


REGISTER:  Reporters wishing to attend or interview participants should contact Brenda Bowser Soder at or 202-897-9285 (mobile)