Skip to main content

Standards Board Meeting


Start Time
Thursday, April 11, 2019 12:00 AM

End Time
Friday, April 12, 2019 12:00 AM

DRAFT Agenda - Subject to change and approval


Thursday, April 11, 2019


7:00 – 9:00 a.m.                     Breakfast

Hernando Desoto Room (Mezzanine Level)


8:00 - 9:00 a.m.                      Registration

Outside the Entrance to the Continental Ballroom (Mezzanine Level)


9:00 - 9:30 a.m.                      Meeting takes place in Continental Ballroom (Mezzanine Level)


Call to Order

Greg Riddlemoser, Chairman, EAC Standards Board


Welcome to Memphis!

Commissioner Donald Palmer

Designated Federal Officer, EAC Standards Board


Secretary Tre Hargett (video message)

Tennessee Secretary of State


Senators Marsha Blackburn (video message)

United States Senator, Tennessee


Pledge of Allegiance

Commissioner Donald Palmer, EAC, Standards Board DFO


Roll Call

Secretary Reynaldo A. Valenzuela, EAC Standards Board


Oath of Office

Commissioner Donald Palmer, EAC, Standards Board DFO



Determination of Quorum

Greg Riddlemoser, Chairman, EAC Standards Board


Welcome Remarks from the Commissioners

Chairwoman Christy McCormick, EAC

Vice Chair Benjamin Hovland, EAC

Commissioner Donald Palmer, EAC, DFO

Commissioner Thomas Hicks, EAC


9:30 - 9:50 a.m.                      Introductory Business

Approval of Minutes of April 11-12, 2018 Meeting

Packet Material Review

Standards Board Election Ballot Instructions

Overview of Committees


9:50 - 10:00 a.m.                    FACA Responsibilities and role of Board under HAVA

Clifford D. Tatum, General Counsel, EAC



10:00 - 10:45 a.m.                  ODNI Unclassified Intel Briefing for Election Officials

Joe Morosco, Assistant Director, Office of the Director of National

Intelligence (ODNI), Manager for Counterintelligence, National

Counterintelligence and Security Center (NCSC)

Spencer Fisher, Chief Counsel, National Counterintelligence

and Security Center, ODNI

Geoff Hale, Cybersecurity Strategy and Integration Program Manager,

Department of Homeland Security (invited)


10:45 - 11:00 a.m.                  Break

Beverages & Snacks Provided in the Continental Ballroom


11:00 a.m. - Noon                  EAC Update

Executive Director Brian D. Newby


Noon – 1:45 p.m.                   Lunch

Skyway Ballroom


Luncheon Keynote

Eric Dreiband, Assistant Attorney General for the Civil Rights

Division, U.S. Department of Justice


Lunch Panel - Disaster Management & Recovery

Roberto Benitez, CIO, Puerto Rico Elections Commission

Candace Grubbs, Butte County, California, Clerk/Recorder & Registrar of Voters

Maria Matthews, Division Director of Elections,

Florida Department of State


1:45 - 4:45 p.m.                      VVSG & Requirements; Consideration of Resolution

Continental Ballroom

Greg Riddlemoser, VVSG Committee

NIST Manager Mary Brady

Brian Newby, Executive Director, EAC

Testing & Certification Staff, EAC


4:45 - 5:00 p.m.                      Miscellaneous Announcements & Business


5:00 p.m.                                Dinner on Your Own


7:30 p.m.                                Executive Board Meeting

Exeter Room

Approval of past minutes

Committee reports

Election of Officers

Review of member interest surveys

Review of committee members



Friday, April 12, 2019


7:00 - 8:00 a.m.                      Breakfast

Hernando Desoto Room (Mezzanine Level)


8:00 - 8:15 a.m.                      Housekeeping

Continental Ballroom (Mezzanine Level)

Announcement of Officers

Committee Assignments


8:15 - 9:15 a.m.                      EAVS

Nichelle Williams and David Kuennen, Research, EAC

Michelle M. Shafer, Election Technology Communications and Research Consultant                                        


9:15 – 10-:00 a.m.                  Department of Justice - Election Offenses

Michael Dunavant, United States Attorney, Western District of Tennessee


10:00 - 11:00 a.m.                  Committee Meeting Breakouts

VVSG – Galaxie Room (3rd Floor)

Clearinghouse – Fortuna Room (3rd Floor)

EAVS – International Room (3rd Floor)

USPS – Devonshire Room (3rd Floor)

Bylaws – Continental Ballroom

Cybersecurity - Exeter Room (3rd Floor)


11:00-11:30 a.m.                    Committee Reports

Continental Ballroom


11:30-11:45 a.m.                    Any Remaining Announcements or Business

Motion to Adjourn


11:45 – 12:30 p.m.                 Lunch “To Go”

Outside Continental Ballroom


12:30 p.m.                              Leave for the National Civil Rights Museum at the Lorraine Motel

Those participating in the optional training should convene in the hotel lobby no

later than 12:30 p.m. to walk to the National Civil Rights Museum

at the Lorraine Motel (approximately .6 miles)


1:00 – 2:00 p.m.                     The Voting Rights Act: Optional Training at the National Civil Rights

Museum at the Lorraine Motel

Hooks Hyde Hall

Training Presentation by Commissioner Donald Palmer

Remarks by Eric Dreiband, Assistant Attorney General for the Civil Rights

Division, U.S. Department of Justice


2:00 – 3:00 p.m.                     Optional Museum Tour

Participants Interested in touring the National Civil Rights Museum

may do so following the luncheon.

Event Documents


standards board