

Wisconsin Elections Commission

212 East Washington Avenue | Third Floor | P.O. Box 7984 | Madison, WI 53707-7984 (608) 266-8005 | elections@wi.gov | elections.wi.gov

April 20, 2020

Mona Harrington, Acting Executive Director U.S. Election Assistance Commission 1335 East-West Highway, Suite 4300 Silver Spring, MD 20910

Dear Ms. Harrington:

The purpose of this letter is to certify that the State of Wisconsin will use the funds provided under the Notice of Grant Award, Agreement # WI20101CARES, for activities consistent with the laws described in Section 906 of HAVA and will not use the funds in a manner that is inconsistent with the requirements of Title III of HAVA.

We further certify that we have reviewed and accept the terms of the award as specified in the Notice of Grant Award. Our UEI number is 87-932-4119 and the signed Certifications are enclosed.

We are requesting \$7,362,345. The State of Wisconsin will utilize the HAVA CARES funds to prepare and to respond to the coronavirus crisis, specifically as it relates to elections, for the 2020 federal election cycle. This will include expenses incurred to support local and state federal election efforts to prepare and respond to coronavirus concerns for Wisconsin's April 7, 2020 Presidential Primary and Spring Election. Such preparations for April 7 included procuring and distributing sanitation supplies to Wisconsin's 1850 municipalities and providing absentee ballot envelopes. Preparations for the remainder of the 2020 election cycle will include development of the statewide voter registration system and online absentee ballot request portal to incorporate intelligent barcodes and increase system capacities. We will also be using the CARES funds to account for additional costs to local election officials for printing absentee envelopes and ballots as well as postage costs.

If you have any questions about this request, please contact Meagan Wolfe at 608-266-8175 or Meagan. Wolfe@wi.gov.

Sincerely,

Meagan Wolfe, Administrator Wisconsin Elections Commission

Cc. Kinza Ghaznavi, Grants Manager

Wisconsin Elections Commissioners

Dean Knudson, chair | Marge Bostelmann | Julie M. Glancey | Ann S. Jacobs | Robert Spindell | Mark L. Thomsen