Report of the Nominating Committee

February 26, 2009

The Nominating Committee of the U.S. Elections Assistance Commission Standards Board met on November 21, 2008 to begin setting forth the process of electing members to the Executive Board of the Standards Board. The members of this committee are: Lynn Bailey, Chair (GA); Julie Freeze (WY); Nick Handy (WA); Jim Silrum, (ND), and Tonni Bartholomew, *ex officio* (MI). The committee is responsible for issuing the call for nominations, for preparing ballot information to be distributed to the Standards Board, and for developing forms and other necessary documentation for the issuance of absentee ballots.

The Nominations Committee first met on November 21, 2008. Following the guidelines set forth by the previous Nominations Committee, the Bylaws of the Standards Board, and HAVA Section 213(c) the Nominations Committee determined the following:

- That 7 seats are up for election in 2009 5 state seats and 2 local seats
- That the 2 members of the current Executive Board that are not up for election in 2009 are the seats currently held by Tonni Bartholomew, local, unaffiliated (MI) and Larry Lomax, local, Republican (NV).
- That pursuant to the Bylaws of the Standards Board, members of the Standards Board must be advised of the call for nominations not later than December 1, 2008 and that the last day for accepting nominations would be January 15, 2009
- That pursuant to HAVA Section 213(c) not more than 5 members of the Executive Board may be of the same political party, not more than 5 members may be state officials and not more than 5 members may be local officials
- That pursuant to the Bylaws of the Standards Board, the makeup of the majority of the Executive Board shall alternate between state and local officials with each election
- That at the conclusion of the 2009 election, the majority of the Executive Board shall be held by state election officials
- That pursuant to the Bylaws of the Standards Board, the geographic location of members of the Executive Board shall be considered but shall not be a determining factor for election to the Executive Board
- That pursuant to the Bylaws of the Standards Board, no nominations are allowed from the floor and proxy voting is not allowed for the purpose of voting for members of the Executive Board
- That absentee ballots would be mailed to all members of the Standards Board who notify the DFO's Office of their inability to attend the Standards Board Meeting, and that pursuant to the Bylaws of the Standards Board all voted absentee ballots must be received by the DFO's office not later than February 18, 2009 in order to be counted

The call for nominations was emailed to all Standards Board members on November 26, 2008. At the close of the nomination period, 6 members had been nominated for the seats representing state election officials and 3 members had been nominated for the seats representing local election officials. One local nominee subsequently withdrew. The committee contacted Bill Cowles, Supervisor of Elections for Orange County, Florida to request his assistance in preparing the ballot and conducting the election on behalf of the Standards Board. Mr. Cowles graciously agreed and developed a draft of the ballot. The Nominating Committee with the assistance of Design for Democracy reviewed and approved the ballot.

The Nominating Committee would like to thank the Election Assistance Commission staff for their assistance in performing their task, and those members of the Standards Board who consented to being nominated for election.