Report of the Nominating Committee

February 24, 2011

The Nominating Committee of the U.S. Election Assistance Commission Standards Board met on November 17, 2010 to begin setting forth the process of electing members to the Executive Board of the Standards Board. The members of this committee are: Lynn Bailey, Chair (GA); Julie Freese (WY); Larry Lomax (NV); and Jim Silrum, *ex officio*, (ND). The committee is responsible for issuing the call for nominations, for preparing ballot information to be distributed to the Standards Board, and for developing forms and other necessary documentation for the issuance of absentee ballots.

Following the guidelines set forth by the Bylaws of the Standards Board and HAVA the Nominating Committee determined the following:

- That 9 seats were up for election in 2011 4 state seats and 5 local seats
- That Executive Board member, Larry Lomax, was term limited and ineligible to seek reelection
- That pursuant to the Bylaws of the Standards Board, members of the Standards Board must be advised of the call for nominations not later than December 1, 1010 and that the last day for accepting nominations would be January 15, 2011.
- That pursuant to HAVA Section 213 (c) not more than 5 members of the Executive Board may be of the same political party, not more than 5 members may be state officials and not more than 5 members may be local officials.
- That pursuant to the Bylaws of the Standards Board, the makeup of the majority of the Executive Board shall alternate between state and local officials with each election.
- That at the conclusion of the 2011 election, the majority of the Executive Board shall be held by local election officials.
- That pursuant to the Bylaws of the Standards Board, the geographic location of members of the Executive Board shall be considered, but shall not be a determining factor for election to the Executive Board.
- That pursuant to the Bylaws of the Standards Board, no nominations for election to the Executive Board are allowed from the floor and proxy voting is not allowed for the purpose of voting for members of the Executive Board.
- That pursuant to the Bylaws of the Standards Board, absentee ballots would be mailed to all members of the Standards Board who notify the DFO's Office of their inability to attend the Standards Board Meeting not later than February 4, 2011, and that the voted ballots must be returned to the DFO's office not later than February 16, 2011 in order to be counted.

During the nominating process, the Nominating Committee performed the following tasks in preparation for the election:

• Worked closely with the EAC staff and Executive Board to ensure that all laws and Bylaws were adhered to and that adequate space was made available at the host hotel in Oklahoma City, OK for the election.

- Periodically reviewed the submitted nominations to ensure that all mandatory criteria were met.
- Recruited nominees, as necessary
- Designed the ballot and all other forms pertaining to the election, including those used for absentee voting
- Coordinated with the local election official in Oklahoma City, Doug Sanderson, to secure the necessary voting equipment for the conduct of the election.

The call for nominations was emailed to all Standards Board members on November 23, 2010. At the close of the nominations period, 4 members had been nominated for the seats representing state election officials and 6 members had been nominated for the seats representing local election officials.

The Nominating Committee would like to especially thank Sharmili Edwards, Counsel to Commissioner Gineen M. Bresso, for her invaluable assistance in performing its duties, and to those members of the Standards Board who consented to being nominated for election.