
STATE INSTRUCTIONS 

 

Florida 
 

 

The updated instructions for Florida are: 

 

Registration Deadline — 29 days before the election. 

6. ID Number. If you have one, you must provide your Florida driver's license number or Florida 

identification card number. If you do not have a Florida driver's license or identification card, you 

must provide the last four digits of your social security number. If you have not been issued any of 

these numbers, you must write the word “NONE.” 

 

7. Choice of Party. You must register with a party if you want to take part in that party’s primary 

election, caucus, or convention.  

 

8. Race or Ethnic Group. You are requested, but not required, to fill in this box. See the list of 

choices under the Application Instructions for Box 8 (on page 2).  

 

9. Signature. To register in Florida you must:  

• be a citizen of the United States  

• be a legal resident of both the State of Florida and of the county in which you seek to be registered  

• be 18 years old (you may pre-register if you are at least16)  

• not be adjudicated mentally incapacitated with respect to voting in Florida or any other State,  

  or if you have, you must first have your voting rights restored.  

• not be a convicted felon, or if you are, you must first have your civil rights restored if they were 

taken away.  

not have been convicted of a felony without your civil rights having been restored pursuant to law  

• swear or affirm the following:  

“I will protect and defend the Constitution of the United States and the Constitution of the State of 

Florida, that I am qualified to register as an elector under the Constitution and laws of the State of 

Florida, and that all information in this application is true.  

Mailing address:  
State of Florida  

Department of State  

Division of Elections  

The R.A. Gray Building  

500 South Bronough St, Rm 316  

Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0250 
 

 

 

 

 
 


