About U.S. EAC


The Help America Vote Act of 2002 (HAVA) specifies that four commissioners are nominated by the President on recommendations from the majority and minority leadership in the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate. No more than two commissioners may belong to the same political party. Once confirmed by the full Senate, commissioners may serve two consecutive terms. HAVA states that members of the commission shall continue to serve past their expired term until a successor takes office. There are two vacancies on the commission.

EAC’s Commissioners

Thomas Hicks and Christy McCormick were sworn in January 13, 2015 as EAC commissioners following their nomination by President Barack H. Obama and unanimous confirmation by the U.S. Senate. 

Commissioner Thomas Hicks, Chair

Commissioner Christy McCormick, Vice Chair



About U.S. EAC