

# U.S. Election Assistance Commission Public Meeting and Hearing Agenda

1225 New York Avenue, NW, Suite 150
Washington, DC 20005
Thursday, October 26, 2006, 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM EST

# Public Meeting and Hearing on the U. S. EAC's Voting System Testing and Certification Program

Call to Order (Chairman DeGregorio)

Pledge of Allegiance (Chairman DeGregorio)

Roll Call

Adoption of Agenda (Chairman DeGregorio)

Welcoming Remarks (Chairman DeGregorio)

#### **OLD BUSINESS:**

- Correction and Approval of Minutes from the September 21, 2006 Meeting (Chairman DeGregorio)
- Report of the Executive Director (Thomas R. Wilkey)

#### **NEW BUSINESS:**

- Resolution on National Election Worker Appreciation Week
- U. S. EAC's Voting System Testing and Certification Program

#### Panel 1: U. S. Election Assistance Commission and NIST Staff

- ➤ Brian Hancock, Director, Voting Systems Certification, U. S. Election Assistance Commission
- Gavin Gilmour, Deputy General Counsel, U. S. Election Assistance Commission
- ➤ Mary H. Saunders, Chief, Standards Services Division, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)

#### Break

## Panel 2: Manufacturers and Testing Laboratories

- ➤ Ian S. Piper, Election Technology Council, Information Technology Association of America
- Frank Padilla, Test Supervisor, Wyle Laboratories Test, Engineering and Research Group; and Keith Wilson, Manager, Wyle Laboratories Test, Engineering and Research Group, East
- ➤ Brian Phillips, President and Company Manager, SysTest Labs

#### Lunch Break

#### **Panel 3: Election Officials**

- Ann McGeehan, Director of Elections, Texas Secretary of State
- ➤ Sandy Steinbach, Chair, ITA Voting Systems Board, National Association of State Election Directors, and Director of Elections, Iowa Secretary of State
- ➤ Alice Miller, Executive Director, DC Board of Elections and Ethics

# Panel 4: State Certification Specialist/Advocacy Organization

- Michael I. Shamos, J.D., PhD, Language Technologies Institute, Carnegie Mellon University
- ➤ Warren Stewart, Policy Director, VoteTrust, USA

#### **Public Comment Period**

This time period will be reserved for public participation. Pursuant to the public notice for this hearing, members of the public or organizations who have previously contacted the EAC will be given three minutes of hearing time for comment. All such groups and persons will have pre-registered regarding their participation. Comments will be strictly limited to three minutes to ensure the fullest participation possible.

## Commissioners' Closing Remarks

# Adjournment