2024 ELECTIONS SUMMIT

AGENDA

January 30, 2024 | 10 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. ET

U.S. Election Assistance Commission and the University of Maryland's Center For Democracy and Civic Engagement

10:00 - 11:00am

Welcome and Opening Keynote

Christy McCormick, Chairwoman, U.S. Election Assistance Commission

Antoine Banks, Department Chair of Government and Politics, University of Maryland

Darryll Pines, President, University of Maryland

Representative Steny Hoyer

A message from Representative Laurel Lee

Presentation – Professional Sports Stadiums and Arenas as Polling Places

Michael Hanmer, CDCE Director and Professor in the Department of Government and Politics (GVPT)

Help America Vote Day

Ben Hovland, Vice Chair, U.S. Election Assistance Commission

11:00am - 12:15pm

Panel 1 – Cutting Through the Noise: Communicating About Elections in a Presidential Election Year

Moderator: Donald Palmer, Commissioner, U.S. Election Assistance Commission

 $\textbf{Secretary Gregg Amore,} \ \textit{Rhode Island}$

Jennifer Scutchfield, Assistant Secretary of State, Kentucky

Brianna Lennon, County Clerk, Boone County, MO

Heider Garcia, Elections Administrator, Dallas County, TX

12:15 – 1:30pm Break for Lunch

1:30 - 2:45pm

Panel 2 – Serving All Voters

Moderator: Ben Hovland, *Vice Chair, U.S. Election Assistance Commission*

Secretary Steve Hobbs, Washington

Monica Evans, Executive Director, District of Columbia Board of Elections

Carly Koppes, Clerk and Recorder, Weld County, CO

Sam Novey, Chief Strategist, Center for Democracy and Civic Engagement, University of Maryland

2:45 - 4:00pm

Panel 3 – Confidence in Elections and Election Security

Moderator: Christy McCormick, Chairwoman, U.S. Election Assistance Commission

Brendan Donahue, Assistant Inspector in Charge, United States Postal Inspection Service (USPIS)

Christina Worrell Adkins, Director of Elections, Texas

Sherry Poland, Director, Hamilton County Board of Elections, OH

Mark Earley, Supervisor of Elections, Leon County, FL

4:00 - 5:15pm

Panel 4 – Challenges for New Election Officials

Moderator: Thomas Hicks, Commissioner, U.S. Election Assistance Commission

Secretary Francisco Aguilar, Nevada

Timothy DeCarlo, Registrar of Voters, Waterbury, CT

Alysoun McLaughlin, former Deputy Election Director, Montgomery County, MD

5:30pm

Closing Remarks

Christy McCormick, Chairwoman, U.S. Election Assistance Commission





