HAVA Complaint Procedures

9. § 254(a)(9) State-Based Administrative Complaint Procedures

A description of the uniform, nondiscriminatory State-based administrative
complaint procedures in effect under section 402. -- HAVA §254 (a)(9)
Deadline for Compliance: Prior to certification of State Plan, but no later than
January 1, 2004, no waiver permitted.

The State Board has developed and adopted the following procedure for
complaints that meets HAVA requirements.

HAVA Administrative Complaint Procedure

Under the provisions of Section 17(a) of House Bill 842, a new
statute, §163-91, was created that authorized the State Board of
Elections to adopt a uniform, nondiscriminatory procedure, as
required under § 402 of Title IV of HAVA for the resolution of any
complaint alleging a violation of any provision of Title Il of HAVA,
including a violation that has occurred, is occurring, or is about to
occur. Among other things, §163-91 provides that no provision of
Chapter 150B of the North Carolina General Statutes shall apply to
allegations, complaints, hearings, or appeals as to an alleged
violation of HAVA by the Board or a local board of elections. The
procedure is set out as follows:

Definitions

(@) In this subtitle, the following terms have the meanings
indicated:

(1) “Board” shall mean the North Carolina State Board of Elections.
(2) “Complainant” means the person who files a complaint with the
State Board under this subtitle.

(3) “Designee(s)” means one or more Board members or others
assigned by the Board to perform any or all functions of the full
board under this procedure.

(4) “HAVA” shall mean the Help America Vote Act of 2002, Public
Law 107-252, 116 Stat. 1666 (2002), codified at 42 United States
Code §§15481-15485.

(5) “Respondent” means any State or local election official whose
actions are asserted, in a complaint under this subtitle, to be in
violation of Title IlI.

(6) “Title III” means Title Il of the Help America Vote Act of 2002,
Public Law 107-252, 116 Stat. 1666 (2002), codified at 42 United
States Code §§15481-15485.
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Complaint
(@) Any person who believes that there is a violation of any

provision of Title Ill may file a complaint. A complaint shall be in
writing and notarized, signed and sworn by the Complainant. The
Complainant may use:

(1) The form prescribed by the Board, which is available from the
Board or from any local board of elections, or which may be
downloaded from the Board website; or

(2) Any other document providing the same information required in
the Board-prescribed form.

(b) A complaint shall be filed within 30 days after the occurrence of
the actions or events that form the basis for the complaint, including
the actions or events that form the basis for the Complainant’s
belief that a violation is about to occur, or, if later, within 30 days
after the Complainant knew or, with the exercise of reasonable
diligence, should have known of those actions or events. The
Complainant shall mail, fax, e-mail or otherwise deliver a copy of
the complaint to each Respondent.

(c) The Board may consolidate complaints if they relate to the same
actions or events, or if they raise common questions of law or fact.

Hearing
(a) At the request of the Complainant or upon the Board’s own

motion, the Board shall conduct a hearing on the record. The
hearing shall be conducted no sooner than 10 days and no later
than 20 days after the Board receives the complaint. The Board
shall give at least 5 business days’ advance notice of the date,
time, and place of the hearing by mail, fax, e-mail, or any other
means of delivery, to the Complainant, and each named
Respondent.

(b) The Board or the Board’s designee(s) shall act as hearing
officer(s). The designee(s) may be authorized by the Board to
perform any or all duties the Board might have as to a complaint
filed under this article.

(c) The Complainant, any Respondent, or any other interested
member of the public may appear at the hearing and testify or
present tangible evidence in connection with the complaint. The
North Carolina Rules of Evidence, §8C-1, shall not apply to the
hearing. Subpoenas for witnesses shall not be issued at the
request of a party; each party shall be responsible for providing
their own witnesses. However, the Board may subpoena any
person to testify in a hearing when the Board determines it will
serve the public interest. Each witness testifying shall be sworn.
The hearing officer may limit the testimony, if necessary, to ensure
that all interested participants are able to present their views. The
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hearing officer may recess the hearing and reconvene at a later
date, time, and place announced publicly at the hearing. There
shall be no right of cross-examination, but a person may testify or
present evidence to contradict any other testimony or evidence. At
the discretion of the Board, hearings may be transcribed or
otherwise recorded and made available to the public.

Final Determination

(a) If there has been no hearing requested, the Board or the
Board'’s designee(s) shall review the record and determine whether,
under a preponderance of the evidence standard, a violation of Title
[Il has been established.

(b) At the conclusion of any hearing under this Article, the Board or
its designee(s) shall determine, under a preponderance of the
evidence standard, whether a violation of Title Il has been
established.

(c) If the Board or the Board’s designee(s) determines that a
violation has occurred, the Board, acting through the Board or
designee, shall provide the appropriate remedy. The remedy so
provided may include an order to any Respondent, commanding
the Respondent to take specified action, or prohibiting the
Respondent from taking specified action, with respect to a past or
future election. However, the remedy may not include an award of
money damages or attorney’s fees.

(d) If the complaint is not timely or not in proper form, or if the
Board or the Board’s designee, whether acting as hearing officer or
otherwise, determines that a violation has not occurred or that there
is insufficient evidence to establish a violation, the Board or
designee(s), shall dismiss the complaint.

(e) The final determination of the Board shall be issued within 90
days after the complaint was filed, unless the Complainant
consents in writing to an extension. The final determination shall
be mailed, faxed, e-mailed, or otherwise delivered to the
Complainant, and each Respondent.

Alternate Dispute Resolution

(a) If the State Board cannot make a final determination within 90
days after the complaint was filed, or within any extension to which
the Complainant consents, the complaint shall be referred for final
resolution, using alternate dispute resolution. Any record or
materials compiled, as a result of a complaint proceeding shall be
made available for use under alternate dispute resolution.

(b) On or before the 5th business day after a final Board
determination was due, the Board shall designate in writing to the
Complainant the name of a proposed arbitrator, knowledgeable in
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election matters, to resolve the complaint. Within 3 business days
after the Complainant receives this proposal, the Complainant shall
either agree to the proposed arbitrator or counter with the name of
a different proposed arbitrator, also knowledgeable in election
matters. Within three days the Board shall indicate if the proposed
arbitrator of the Complainant is acceptable. If it is not, then the
names of both proposed arbitrators shall be placed in a container
and the arbitrator shall be determined by lot drawn by the
Complainant. The Board shall be responsible for any reasonable
costs (not to exceed the rate of $75 per hour) and expenses
generated by the arbitrator in determining the complaint.

(c) The arbitrator may review the record compiled in connection
with the complaint and any briefs or memoranda previously filed in
the action, but shall not receive additional testimony or evidence.
(d) The arbitrator must issue a written resolution within 60 days
after the final Board determination was due. This 60-day period
may not be extended. The final resolution of the arbitrator shall be
transmitted to the Board and shall be the final resolution of the
complaint. Under no circumstances may the final determination of
an arbitrator order action to be performed except in the complaint at
hand or order a change in state law, federal law or Board policies,
procedures, or rules.

No Appeal
The final determination of the Board, or the final resolution of an

arbitrator, shall not be subject to appeal in any State court, State
administrative hearing or panel, or federal court. If the alleged Title
[l HAVA violation supports a legal cause of action independent of
Title 1l of HAVA, the Complainant shall not be precluded from filing
such legal action as a result of making a complaint under this
procedure.

Record of all Proceedings
At the discretion of the Board hearings within the requirements of
§254(a)(9) shall be transcribed.
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