Effective Designs for the Administration of Federal Elections

Section 8: Appendix

June 2007

About AIGA / Design for Democracy

About AIGA

AIGA, the professional association for design, is the oldest and largest membership association for design professionals engaged in the discipline, practice, and culture of designing. Its mission is to advance designing as a professional craft, strategic tool, and vital cultural force.

The organization was founded as the American Institute of Graphic Arts in 1914. Since then, it has become the preeminent professional association for communication designers, broadly defined. In the past decade, designers have increasingly been involved in creating value for clients (whether public or business) through applying design thinking to complex problems, even when the outcomes may be more strategic, multidimensional, and conceptual than what most would consider traditional communication design. AIGA now represents more than 19,000 designers of all disciplines through national activities and local programs developed by more than 55 chapters and 200 student groups.

AIGA supports the interests of professionals, educators, and students who are engaged in the process of designing. The association is committed to stimulating thinking about design, demonstrating the value of design, and empowering success for designers throughout the arc of their careers. Through conferences, competitions, exhibitions, publications, and Web sites, AIGA inspires, educates, and informs designers, helping them to realize their talents and to advocate the value of design among the media, the business community, governments, and the public.

About Design for Democracy

Design for Democracy is a strategic initiative of AIGA. The organization's goal is to increase civic participation by making experiences clearer, more understandable, easier to accomplish, and more trustworthy. Design and social research professionals collaborate to enable compelling, efficient, and trust-building experiences between government and the governed.

Contributors

Accessibility Experts

Ann Taylor, American Federation of the Blind David Baquis, Access Board Diane Golden, Missouri Assistive Technology Dr. Richard Deluca, Eye Institute of New York Jim Dixon, American Association of People With Disabilities JR Harding, Access Board Nancy George, AARP Steven Booth, American Federation of the Blind

Election Officials

Alexia Scott Morrison, Nebraska Brett Rowley, California Carmine P. Casciano, New Jersey Dawn Roberts, Florida David Dowling, Nebraska David Orr, Illinois David J. Shively, Nebraska Howard Sholl, Delaware Glen Takahashi, Hawaii Guy Mickley, Maryland Jim Henson, Minnesota Joanne Armbruster, New Jersey John Lindback, Oregon Julia Keh, California Kathy Rogers, Georgia Keith Cunningham, Ohio Linda Lamone, Maryland Mary Kiffmeyer, Minnesota Richard Lynch, New Jersey Scott Burnham, Illinois Sharon Bohaboj, Nebraska Sharon Turner-Buie, Missouri William Campbell, Massachusetts

Language/Reading Experts

Amy Gendler, AIGA China Bill Tilghman, Compass Languages Dana Chisnell, UsabilityWorks Ginny Redish, Redish & Associates, Inc. Glenn Magpantay, Asian American Legal Defense and Education Fund Josephine Scott, Redish & Associates, Inc. Judy Trupin, Queens Borough Library, Adult Services June Crawford, National Institute for Literacy Leo Brenninkmeyer, Compass Languages Roberto Cruz, Queens Borough Library, Adult Services Susan Dalmus, Queens Borough Library, Adult Services Veronica Belsuzarri, Illinois Wang Yun, AIGA China

Researchers, Designers, and Election Design Experts

Cheyenne Medina Dori Tunstall, Design for Democracy Gretchen Schulfer Jim Vermillion, International Foundation for Election Systems Joe Sparano Marcia Lausen, Design for Democracy Michael Dennis Sharon Laskowski, National Institute of Standards and Technology Terezia Matus, International Foundation for Election Systems Veronica Belsuzarri, Illinois

Manufacturers and Printers contacted

Adam Carbullido, Elections Systems & Software Darrell Aubrey, Hart Donnetta Puckett, Diebold John Groh, Elections Systems & Software Howard Cramer, Sequoia Michelle Schafer, Sequoia Progress Printing, New Jersey Shari Little, Elections Systems & Software Skip DeBiase, Phoenix Graphics Steve Bolton, Elections Systems & Software Veronica Spencer, Sequoia Zane Smith, Diebold

Core Project Team

Douglas Brown Drew Davies Elizabeth Hare John Emerson Julie Park Laura Varacchi Luke Woods Mary Quandt Matthew Terdich Michael Konetzka Kelly McLaughlin